Skip to main content

Welcome to the Leicester Middle School Library: Databases & Periodicals

Homepage

What Makes a Database a Good Source?

  • Databases contain quality information from a variety of sources
  • Articles are peer reviewed and are written by experts in the field
  • Databases compile resources on specific subjects or they can be more general
  • Citations are often available in various formats
  • Advanced search options allow user to narrow results 
  • Information is updated frequently

Note Taking Sheet

Comprehensive List of State Databases

Art & Music

Fine Arts and Music Collection Web image

General Reference Databases

Research In Context Web image   Student Edition Web image

Kids InfoBits Web image   General OneFile Web image   Biography In Context Web image

Social Studies & Issues

World History In Context Web image   World History Collection Web image   Global Issues In Context Web image

U.S. History In Context Web image   U.S. History Collection Web image Diversity Studies Collection Web image

Religion and Philosophy Collection Web image   Pop Culture Collection Web image

News & Magazines

Boston Globe 1980-present   The New York Times 1985+   Popular Magazines Web image

Image result for the boston herald free logo WTG button

 Image result for make magazine  

email Mrs. Minton for login information

Health, Science, Phys. Ed.

Science In Context Web image   

General Science Collection Web image   

Health Reference Center Academic Web image   

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module Web image

   

ELA

Literature Resource Center Web image

Foreign Language

Image result for britannica escolar