Everett - National History Day: Home

Working individually, or with a group, research an historical topic in depth over the course of four months. You will apply proficient research methods throughout the process, culminating in a creative project to be shared with your class. Mr. Everett will select various projects from the grade to compete at a local level. If your project is selected for this process, you may even have a chance to compete at a national level! Do your best!

This year's theme is:

check out historian/filmmaker Ken Burn's playlist on the topic

1. Select preferred category (type of project)
2. Individually present ideas for research to group
3. Group chooses best selection collectively
4. Present topic and thesis to Mr. Everett
5. Primary and Secondary Source Lesson
6. Introduction to Databases Lesson
7. Select two database articles to add to collection in Wakelet
8. Advanced searching and citations Lessons
9. Begin research, using the Citation Tracker and Wakelet to evaluate and curate sources.
10. Develop new questions and continue to narrow down research topic

Documentary Project Requirements: 

• 10 minutes long
• Sources must be present at the end
• Primary Sources and secondary sources must be used
• Annotated Bibliography must be kept separately
• Interviews with experts:  Not a requirement, but will significantly increase the quality of your work
• A process paper explaining how you approached your project must be attached

Click for student example: The 1971 FBI Burglary: Taking a Stand Against Illegal Government Surveillance
Click for student example: The Tuskegee Airmen Courage Knows No Color Nationals Final

Exhibit Project Requirements:

• Thesis is in the center
• Left side: Before: The background information and your build up to your topic
• Middle: Thesis, main ideas, and central events or people in your project
• Right side:  The after/long term effects of your topic
• Annotated bibliography
• Process Paper explaining how you approached your project
• Primary and Secondary Sources must be used

Click for Student Example: Super Patriots: Antisemitism, Comic Books and World War II
Click for Student Example: Female Flyers: The Conflict and Compromise of The Women Air Force Service Pilots in WWII

Performance Project Requirement:

• 10 minutes long
• Primary Sources and secondary sources must be used
• Annotated Bibliography must be kept separately
• A process paper explaining how you approached your project muse be attached

Click for student example: Route 66: The Road of Possibilities

Website Project Requirement:

• Sites must contain a page for your thesis
• A link to your bibliography
• Primary and secondary sources should be used
• Links for your before, during, and after parts of your topic

Click for student examples: Feminists in Flight: Exploring Gender Equality at 32,000 Feet
Click for student examples: Duel and Duality : New York, New Journalism

ACCESS THE NHD WEBSITE FOR ADDITIONAL RESOURCES AND LINKS 

MA Standards for History and Social Science Practice:

2. Develop focused questions or problem statements and conduct inquiries.

3. Organize information and data from multiple primary and secondary sources.

4. Analyze the purpose and point of view of each source; distinguish opinion from fact.

5. Evaluate the credibility, accuracy, and relevance of each source.

6. Argue or explain conclusions, using valid reasoning and evidence. 

AASL 

IV.A.2 Learners will act on an information need by identifying possible sources of information

IV.A.3 Learners will act on an information need by making critical choices about information sources to use

IV.D.1. Learners select and organize information for a variety of audiences by performing ongoing analysis of and reflection on the quality, usefulness, and accuracy of curated resources

VI.B.2. Learners use valid information and reasoned conclusions to make ethical decisions in the creation of knowledge by acknowledging authorship and demonstrating respect for the intellectual property of others.

MA English Language Arts and Literacy

W.6.8 When conducting research, gather relevant information from multiple print and digital sources; assess the credibility of each source; and quote or paraphrase the data and conclusions of others while avoiding plagiarism and providing basic bibliographic information for sources.