Skip to Main Content

Ms. Grove - Medieval Europe Research Presentations: T2

Topics Covered in Page

  • Regular women in medieval Europe
  • The Crusades
  • Heraldry
  • The Vikings
  • Robin Hood - truth vs. myth

Websites

Women in Medieval Society - The British Library provides information about women's lives during the Middle Ages, including their roles and station in the societal structure of the time

Crusades - Explore articles and related videos from the History Channel about the Crusades

Self-Representation in Heraldry - Central European University provides detailed articles about heraldry and the role they played in medieval life

Who were the Vikings? - Great resources provided by the BBC about the Vikings

The Real Robin Hood - The History Channel provides an article and videos exploring the legend of Robin Hood

For additional web articles, do a Google Search using the CRAAP method

Databases

Suggested Articles from World History in Context:

Regular Women in Medieval Europe:
"Women" (Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 2004)
"Widowhood" (Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 2004)

The Crusades
"History of the Crusades" (The Crusades Reference Library, 2005)
"Origins of the Crusades" (The Crusades Reference Library, 2005)
"Crusades" (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, 2003) 
"End of the Crusades: Mongols, Mamluks, and Muslims" (The Crusades Reference Library, 2005)
"Crusades" (Topic Page)

Heraldry
"Heraldry" (Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 1989)
"Heraldry" (The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, 2003) 
"Heraldry" (New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2003)

The Vikings
"Vikings" (Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 1989)
"The Vikings and Magyars" (World Eras, 2002)
"The Vikings as Explorers and Colonists" (World Eras, 2002)

Robin Hood- Truth vs. Myth
"Robin Hood" (UXL Encyclopedia of World Mythology, 2009)
"Robin Hood" (Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 1989)


Suggested Articles from Britannica:

General:
"Middle Ages" 2018

The Crusades
"Crusades" 2018 

Heraldry
"Heraldry" 2018 

The Vikings
"Vikings" 2018

Robin Hood- Truth vs. Myth
"Robin Hood" 2018 

Print Library Resources