Mr. Lemerise - Civil War Biographies: Introduction to Databases

• Databases contain quality information from a variety of sources
• Articles are peer reviewed and are written by experts in the field
• Databases compile resources on specific subjects or they can be more general
• Citations are often available in various formats
• Advanced search options allow user to narrow results 
• Information is updated frequently

Searching a database is very different from searching Google. Use these tips to help find the information you seek:

• Spelling has to be 100% accurate
• Narrow a topic down to a few keywords
• Adjust wording in your search depending on the results you get
• Put quotations around your search phrase to limit search results
• Advanced searching is available to further limit search results

Encyclopedia Britannica is a digital encyclopedia that contains thousands of articles on numerous topics. The following features are offered within this database to make finding information a snap:

• Articles can be adjusted to elementary, middle school, or high school reading levels
• Articles can be translated into multiple languages
• Double click on a word to get the definition
• Double click on a word to translate it into Spanish 
• Images, video, sound recordings, and primary sources accompany encyclopedia articles
• Easily locate articles related to your search
• Ability to save, print, and email articles to reference at another time
• Citations are provided in MLA, APA, Harvard, Chicago Manual of Style
• Increase and decrease font size
• Articles contain a read-aloud feature 
• Articles are mapped to Common Core Standards
• Unique features including "Explore Biographies", "Compare Countries", "World Atlas"

Test your knowledge of databases. Take this quiz!

Here are some of the unique features of this database:​

• Articles are updated frequently
• Information is pulled from reference content, audio, video, photographs, primary sources, magazine & journal articles, newspaper articles, and more
• Citation information is provided in MLA 8, MLA 7, MLA 6, APA, and Chicago 16th Edition and can be exported to Easybib or your Google Drive
• Articles can be translated into a handful of languages
• Email, download, print, save, or share the resource for later reference

Here are some of the unique features of this database:​

• Articles are updated frequently
• Information is pulled from reference content, audio, video, photographs, primary sources, magazine & journal articles, newspaper articles, and more
• Each individual has a Topic Page that has content related to the individual you're searching
• Citation information is provided in MLA 8, MLA 7, MLA 6, APA, and Chicago 16th Edition and can be exported to Easybib or your Google Drive
• Articles can be translated into a handful of languages
• Email, download, print, save, or share the resource for later reference